Ryan Dayvault, UNC Nutrition Research Institute Facility Director, has been selected as one of the Charlotte Business Journal’s cohort of “40 Under 40” honorees for 2024.

By Jen Wilson – Associate Editor, Charlotte Business Journal

As the Charlotte region’s population continues to grow, young professionals are moving to the area in droves and joining the local workforce. Along with those already here and working to shape the region’s future, they pour energy, talent and ideas into local companies — and the community at large.

Each year, the Charlotte Business Journal aims to introduce some of these rising stars through the 40 Under 40 Awards program.

This program, now in its 31st year, turns a spotlight on 40 individuals — all under the age of 40 — who are making a difference in the region. CBJ solicits nominations for this recognition, and our readers always come through with an impressive group from which to choose. This year was no exception, with some 200 candidates put forward by colleagues, contacts or themselves. CBJ‘s editorial team considered each submission based on the nominee’s leadership and accomplishments at work as well as their contributions to greater Charlotte.

Winners will be celebrated during an awards event to be held May 14 at The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte hotel in uptown.

They’ll also be featured in a CBJ special report due out May 17, offering readers a glimpse at who they are — from professional details and motivations to personal tidbits like hobbies and more.

Congratulations to the 2024 honorees:

  • Katie Barker, Morningstar Properties
  • Brittney Bogues, Bogues Group
  • Alberto Villa Cevallos, Housing Studio
  • Chelsea Corey, King & Spalding
  • Courtney Cortes, Novant Health
  • Christopher Day, Eventus WholeHealth
  • Ryan Dayvault, UNC Nutrition Research Institute
  • Claire Magee Ferguson, Gray Television
  • Kate Flynn, Deloitte Professional Services
  • Brian Helfrich, Summit Coffee
  • Sarah Hopfer, Forvis
  • Zach Huneycutt, Strathmore Capital Advisors
  • Elizabeth Ireland, Winston & Strawn
  • Jamese Ivy, United Way
  • Eric Jacuzzi, NASCAR
  • Chip Johnson, Falfurrias Capital Partners
  • Kaycee Kalpin, Premier Inc.
  • A.J. Klenk, Catalyst Capital Partners
  • Carolina Ko, Bank of America Corp.
  • Faisal Lakhany, Wells Fargo Securities
  • Ben Lassiter, Carolina Legal Staffing
  • Gwendolyn Lewis, Michael Best & Friedrich
  • Erin Link, American Heart Association
  • Grant Lyman, Live Nation
  • La-Deidre Matthews, Fox Rothschild
  • Mark McAuley, Suncrest
  • Larissa Mervin, Legal Aid of North Carolina
  • David Nelson, Tepper Sports & Entertainment
  • Paul Pansing, Burns & McDonnell
  • Shahid Rana, Mecklenburg County
  • Aaron Randolph, Carolina Youth Coalition
  • Akya Rice, Trane Technologies
  • Matthew Roden, Atrium Health
  • Michael Ruder, Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft
  • Jennifer Sanctis, Bank of America Corp.
  • Solange Tricanowicz, Economic Development Partnership of North Carolina
  • Tom Walsh, Pappas Properties
  • Raynard Washington, Mecklenburg County
  • Erica Wilkerson, NASCAR
  • Gary Young, Cushman & Wakefield