Faculty Directory

Stephen Hursting, PhD, MPH

Stephen Hursting, PhD, MPH

Institute Director, Professor of Nutrition

Diet-gene interaction for cancer prevention

hursting@email.unc.edu
704-250-5059

Carol L. Cheatham, PhD

Carol L. Cheatham, PhD

Associate Professor of Psychology & Neuroscience

Nutrition for memory and attention abilities

carol_cheatham@unc.edu
704-250-5010

Natalia I. Krupenko, PhD

Natalia I. Krupenko, PhD

Associate Professor of Nutrition

Role of folate in promoting health and preventing disease

natalia_krupenko@unc.edu
704-250-5054

Philip A. May, PhD

Philip A. May, PhD

Professor of Nutrition

Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders

philip_may@unc.edu
704-250-5002

Wimal Pathmasiri, PhD

Wimal Pathmasiri, PhD

Assistant Professor of Nutrition

Impact of diet on gut microbiome related metabolism

wimal_pathmasiri@unc.edu
704-250-5069

Delisha Stewart, PhD

Delisha Stewart, PhD

Assistant Professor of Nutrition

Influence of nutrition on cancer health disparities

delisha_stewart@unc.edu
704-250-5068

Steven H. Zeisel, MD, PhD

Steven H. Zeisel, MD, PhD

Professor of Nutrition and Pediatrics, Founding Director of the NRI

Choline as an essential nutrient

steven_zeisel@unc.edu
(704) 250-5003

Susan Smith, PhD

Susan Smith, PhD

Institute Deputy Director, Professor of Nutrition

Molecular mechanisms by which dietary components affect prenatal development

susan_smith@unc.edu
704-250-5065

John E. French, PhD

John E. French, PhD

Professor of Nutrition

Individual susceptibility and environmental and nutritional influences on chronic disease risk

jfren43@email.unc.edu
704-250-5029

Sergey A. Krupenko, PhD

Sergey A. Krupenko, PhD

Professor of Nutrition

Vitamin folate and its role in liver function and cancer

sergey_krupenko@unc.edu
704-250-5053

Katie Meyer, ScD

Katie Meyer, ScD

Assistant Professor of Nutrition

Nutritional and Cardiovascular Disease Epidemiologist

ktmeyer@email.unc.edu
704-250-5071

Blake Rushing, PhD

Blake Rushing, PhD

Assistant Professor of Nutrition

Nutritional Pharmacology

blake_rushing@unc.edu
704-250-5067

Isis Trujillo-Gonzalez, PhD

Isis Trujillo-Gonzalez, PhD

Assistant Professor of Nutrition

Mechanisms linking choline status and neurodevelopment in health and disease states.

isis_trujillo@unc.edu
(704) 250-5041

Ximena Bustamante-Marin, PhD

Ximena Bustamante-Marin, PhD

Assistant Professor of Nutrition

 

xmbmarin@med.unc.edu
(919) 843-4983

Martin Kohlmeier, MD, PhD

Martin Kohlmeier, MD, PhD

Professor of Nutrition

Dietary intake and nutrient requirements

mkohlmeier@unc.edu
704-250-5023

Yuan Li, PhD

Yuan Li, PhD

Assistant Professor of Nutrition

The concept of the Exposome in Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolic Syndrome

yuanyli4@unc.edu
704-250-5069

Sandra Mooney, PhD

Sandra Mooney, PhD

Associate Professor of Nutrition

Effect(s) of environment and genes on brain development

sandra_mooney@unc.edu
704-250-5022

Susan Sumner, PhD

Susan Sumner, PhD

Professor of Nutrition and Pharmacology

Metabolic individuality

susan_sumner@unc.edu
704-250-5066

Saroja Voruganti, PhD

Saroja Voruganti, PhD

Associate Professor of Nutrition

Impact of nutrient-gene interactions on purine metabolism and related diseases

saroja@unc.edu
704-250-5009